Beau to Beau Publishing

LGBT Fiction

The Escaped Murderer of Somerville

The Escaped Murderer of Somerville
Click Here or on Cover Above to Purchase

The man who killed an entire family is on the run and eluding authorities after escaping from the Rockfort Asylum. Claiming he has a Master to please, he hunts the curious teen who is determined to find him. In a twisted and bizarre cat and mouse game, Jerry is lured into the forest by the cries of a woman in distress, but discovers something much more sinister.

Excerpt:
When I first got the idea of checking out the sewers, my friend Nick wasn’t supposed to go down with me.

“What are you doing?” I asked him.

“What does it look like I’m doing? I’m coming with you,” he said with a smile.

We reached a fork in the tunnel when one of the dim bulbs hanging over us flickered and gave out. “Nick,” I said as I shone the flashlight right in front of us. “Look at the wall and tell me what you see.”

“I see all sorts of green icky stuff growing on the walls,” he said.

I peeled off a bit and threw it to the ground.

Nick let out a nervous laugh as he watched me pull down another layer. “Come on, Jerry. Let’s get out of here.”

“Nick, turn off that bulb.”

He gave it a pull and the room fell into darkness. After a few seconds I began to see patterns form, but they didn’t make any sense to me. The best I could tell was that they were a mathematical code of some sort. I scribbled down the florescent code as best as I could.

“It looks like mathematics,” said Nick. “Do you think this entire room has some sort of codes written on the walls?”

“It’s possible,” I answered.

***

“It was good of you to finally come to me,” he said. A sinister grin was on his face as he stared at me.

“What do you want from me?” I asked.

“I want to make sure the deed is done,” James Pritchett smiled at me.

“What deed are you talking about?”

“It seems you haven’t been able to figure it out,” he grinned.

“Figure what out?” I asked.

“You found my hideout,” he said. He started to step towards me. “You found my notebook. You read my plans.”

“It was all gibberish to me,” I answered. “Where’s the girl?” I asked him.

“What girl?”

“The girl who was screaming for help,” I answered. “What did you do to her?”

“Your mind must be playing tricks on you,” he said. He wouldn’t stop smiling. “No one shouted for help.”

Forcing my body to listen to what my mind wanted it to do, I ran from him.

“I love it when they run,” he laughed in mirth.

“The Escaped Murderer of Somerville,” young adult mystery by A.J. Raven, is available exclusively from Amazon. Print book is also available from Amazon. Our website is http://www.beautobeau.com.

December 18, 2015 - Posted by | adventure, ebooks, mystery/suspense, young adult fiction | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

